

NEWS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 7th, 2011

Contact:

Paul Hutchinson, DSF Refractories and Minerals Ltd +44-1629-636-271

Juan Rafael Silva Garcia Named 2011 Phoenix Award Glass Person of the Year.

Juan Rafael Silva Garcia was recently named the forty first recipient of The Phoenix Award®.

Juan Silva joins a distinguished list of persons who have been recognized by The Phoenix Award Committee for their contributions to glass and the glass industry.

A founder partner and current Director General (CEO) of FEVISA Group, Juan Silva represents the definition of a true entrepreneur. Leading his company from humble beginnings in 1989 operating one furnace and one 8 section DG drum driven machine trying to make wine bottles, FEVISA are now recognized as a major producer of glass containers. This has all been done with good business sense, a strong faith in glass and the adoption of the latest technologies available.

Juan Silva's business success and commitment to glass as a packaging medium make him a very worthy winner of this prestigious award.

PAST PHOENIX AWARD RECIPIENTS

<u>Year</u>	<u>Recipient</u>	<u>Company</u>
2010	Dr. Delbert E. Day	University of Missouri-Rolla
2009	Javier Gutiérrez	Vidrala
2008	John Gallo	Gallo Glass
2007	Helmut Swarovski	D. Swarovski & Co.
2006	Dr. Warren W. Wolf, Jr.	Owens Corning
2005	Dr. Helmut A. Schaeffer	German Society of Glass
2004	Alonso Gonzalez R.	Grupo Pavisa S.A. De C.V.
2003	John T. Brown	Corning, Inc.
2002	Y. C. Lin	Taiwan Glass Industries
2001	Claude Picot	Saint-Gobain Containers
2000	Roger O'Shaughnessy	Cardinal FG
1999	Alev Yarman	SISECAM
1998	Dale Chihuly	Artist
1997	Joseph H. Lemieux	Owens-Illinois, Inc.



THE PHOENIX AWARD® COMMITTEE

1996	Dr. L. David Pye	Alfred University
1995	John F. McConnell	PPG Industries
1994	I. K. Byun	Hankuk Glass Industries
1993	Harold A. McMaster	Solar Cells, Inc.
1992	Frank H. Green	PPG Industries
1991	John F. Wosinski	Corning Glass Works
1990	Ernesto Martens	Vitro, S.A.
1989	Dr. Robert Ryder	Owens-Brockway Glass Containers
1988	R. D. "Dee" Hubbard	AFG Industries
1987	George Keller	Diamond Bathurst, Inc.
1986	William M. Davidson	Guardian Industries
1985	William W. Boeschenstein	Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corp.
1984	Robert E. Utsler	Kerr Glass Mfg. Corp.
1983	Dr. William R. Prindle	Corning Glass Works
1982	William A. Kerr	Kerr Glass Mfg. Corp.
1981	Sir Alastair Pilkington	Pilkington Brothers, Ltd.
1980	Frank H. Wheaton, Jr.	Wheaton Industries
1979	Beuther L. Schmidt	Anchor Hocking, Inc.
1978	Dr. George B. Langer	Kerr Glass Mfg. Corp.
1977	Dominic Labino	Artist
1976	Dr. Roy F. Arrandale	Thatcher Glass, Inc.
1975	Stanley D. Stookey	Corning Glass Works
1974	Edwin D. Dodd	Owens-Illinois, Inc.
1973	Dr. James P. Poole	Brockway Glass Co.
1972	R. L. Cheney	Glass Container Mfg. Institute
1971	Dr. Fay V. Tooley	University of Illinois

THE PHOENIX AWARD

"It is the purpose of the Phoenix Award Committee to select, each year, a person now living, who has been active in and has made contributions to any phase of the glass industry. This may be in the field of science, production, or education relating to glass, and shall include glass containers, fiber glass, scientific glass, flat glass, tableware and electronic glass... As a symbol of this Award the recipients shall be presented with a glass sculpture representing the mythological Phoenix Bird."